Rights To Freedom

The rights to freedom are the most important fundamental rights guaranteed by the constitution of India. It is the prevalence of these freedoms that make democracy meaningful. The original constitution as adopted in 1949 guaranteed seven such freedoms. By the 44th amendment, the right to hold and dispose of property has been removed from the list of fundamental freedoms in 1978.

List of Rights to Freedom under Indian Constitution

Art. 19 of the constitution now provides six freedoms, namely

  • right to freedom of speech and expression,
  • right to assemble peaceably and without arms,
  • right to form associations or unions,
  • right to move freely throughout the territory of India
  • right to reside and settle in any part of the territory of India,
  • right to practice any profession or to carry on any occupation trade or business

Each one of these six freedoms is subject to some restrictions. For rights can never be absolute. Individual rights must be reconciled with the interests of the community. It is logical that equal rights for all must mean limited rights for any. Hence, the state may impose ‘reasonable restrictions’ upon the exercise of any of these rights.


  • contempt of court,
  • defamation,
  • decency or morality,
  • security of the state,
  • friendly relations with other states,
  • incitement of offence and,
  • sovereignty and
  • integrity of India.